++ PFD WAIVER GUIDELINES ++

To: Louisiana Board of Ethics

From: Tracy M. Barker

Re: Late Filing of Personal Financial Disclosure Statements
Date: April 14, 2016

The following proposed procedures are for handling waiver requests of late filed personal financial
disclosure statements. These procedures will outline how the staff handles the waiver requests as well
as the how the staff will come to a recommendation of a waiver or suspension of any late fees
assessed.

LATE FEE ASSESSMENTS:

Staff is required to send a notice to a person who has not timely filed a PFD. If the person files the
report within 7 business days of receiving a notice of delinquency, no late fee is assessed. However,
if the person does not file the report within that time period, late fees are assessed in the following
amounts:

Tier 1: $500 per day, $12,500 maximum
Tier 2: $100 per day, $2,500 maximum
Tier 2.1: $50 per day, $1,500 maximum
Tier 3: $50 per day, $1,500 maximum

To prove receipt of the letter by the person, staff mails the notice of delinquency by certified mail,
return receipt requested. Ifthe letter is refused or unclaimed, the notice is then served by state police.

WAIVER REQUESTS:

- The staff will docket all waiver requests that are timely filed with the Board.

- Rule 1207 of the Boards Rules indicate that waivers are considered timely if they are
received by the staff, in writing, within 20 days of the late filer’s receipt of the late fee
order.

- §1157A(1)(b) of the Louisiana Code of Governmental Ethics provides authority for
the Board’s waiver of late filing fees based upon “Good Cause.”

“Good Cause” is defined in §1157A(1)(b) as follows: “any actions or circumstances
which, in the considered judgment of the Board, were not within the control of the
late filer and which were the direct cause of the late filing.”

- If the report that is the subject of the late fee order has not been filed, the staff will
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recommend to decline to waive the late and to advise the late filer that the Board will
not consider a re-consideration of the waiver unless the report has been filed.

- Discretion remains with the Board to waive part or all of a late filing fee assessed in
connection with a personal financial disclosure statement.

A. RECOMMENDATION TO SUSPEND A FINE:

- The staffwill consider recommending a suspension of the late fees, for those persons
who meet the following criteria:

1. The waiver request is timely filed with the Board,
2. The late filer has no other late filings with an assessed fine, and
3. Good cause 1s shown in support of the waiver request.

Tier 1 (Maximum $12.500):

If between 1 and 45 days late’, suspend all of the fine.

If between 46 and 91 days late, suspend all but $500.

If between 92 and 137 days late, suspend all but $700.

If between 138 and 183 days late, suspend all but $1,000.
If between 184 and 230 days late, suspend all but $1,500.
If 231 or more days late, suspend all but $2,000.

Sk

Tier 2 (Maximum $2.500):

If between 1 and 45 days late, suspend all of the fine.

If between 46 and 91 days late, suspend all but $250.

If between 92 and 137 days late, suspend all but $500.

If between 138 and 183 days late, suspend all but $750.
If between 184 and 230 days late, suspend all but $1,000.
If 231 or more days late, suspend all but $1,250.

Sk

Tier 2.1 (Maximum $1.500):

If between 1 and 45 days late, suspend all of the fine.
If between 46 and 91 days late, suspend all but $250.
If between 92 and 137 days late, suspend all but $450.
If between 138 and 183 days late, suspend all but $650.
If between 184 and 230 days late, suspend all but $850.

i

! Days counted from expiration of 7 day business period following receipt of a notice of
delinquency.
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6. If 231 or more days late, suspend all but $1,050.

Tier 3 (Maximum $1.500):

If between 1 and 45 days late, suspend all of the fine.
If between 46 and 91 days late, suspend all but $200.
If between 92 and 137 days late, suspend all but $400.
If between 138 and 183 days late, suspend all but $600.
If between 184 and 230 days late, suspend all but $800.
If 231 or more days late, suspend all but $1,000.

Sk

All suspensions are made based on future compliance with the disclosure requirements under
the Code. Furthermore, if not suspended in its entirety, payment will be ordered to be made
within 30 days of receipt of the new Late Fee Order, unless financial hardship supports a
recommendation of a payment plan. Failure to pay the portion not suspended within 30 days
of receipt of the new Late Fee Order or pursuant to the terms of an executed payment plan
results in the original late fee assessed becoming due and owing.

- If the filer demonstrates a material financial hardship, the staft may recommend the
waiver or suspension of up to the entire late fee, irrespective of prior late filings.
Supporting documentation shall be submitted with the waiver request.

B. SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS:

- A late fee assessed against a Tier 2 filer in connection with a failure to timely amend
a pfd because the filer reported his public income by category rather than by specific
dollar amount will be waived for a first offense pursuant to a timely waiver request.
Any other late amendments will be considered under the waiver guidelines set forth
above.

- A late fee assessed against a Tier 3 filer in connection with a failure to timely amend
a pfd because the filer failed to report his public income by specific dollar amount will
be suspended for a first offense pursuant to a timely waiver request. Any other late
amendments will be considered under the waiver guidelines set forth above.

- A late fee assessed against a Tier 2.1 or Tier 3 filer in connection with a failure to
timely file their pfd the year following the termination of their office will be
suspended in its entirety, if the filer only has one other late filing with an assessed
late fee.

WAIVER RECONSIDERATION REQUESTS:
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= The staft will consider waiver reconsideration requests that are filed with the Board

if they are:

1. Filed, in writing, within 30 days of the mailing of the Board’s decision of the
waiver request, and

2. Present new facts and/or evidence regarding the late filing.

The staft will only consider one waiver reconsideration request per late filing penalty.

- The staff will then make a recommendation based upon its established waiver
guidelines as outlined above.

AUTHORITY TO RESCIND BASED ON RULE 1205B:

Rule 1205B of the Rules of the Louisiana Board of Ethics provides that an automatic late fee
shall not be assessed, or if assessed shall be rescinded by the staff, if the person required to file the
report did not file the report for any of the following reasons which occurred on the due date or
during the seven days prior to the date the report was due. The staff is authorized to rescind
such late fee if one of the following reasons occurred during the time the notice of delinquency was
recetved:

1. Death of a person required to file or the person regularly responsible, or a death in
their immediate family, as defined by R.S. 42:1102(13);

2. Serious medical condition, in the considered judgment of the staff, which prevented
the person required to file or the person regularly responsible from filing the report
timely; or

3. A natural disaster, an act of God, force majeure, a catastrophe, or such other similar
occurrence.
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